Three-time Texas winner Carl Edwards grabs Duck Commander 500 pole – Nascar

RELATED: Get the full lineup


Carl Edwards claimed his first Coors Light Pole Award of the season on Friday at Texas Motor Speedway, posting a final-round speed of 194.609 mph. Edwards is the sixth different pole winner in seven races this season.


Edwards has won at Texas Motor Speedway three times, though his last trip to Victory Lane in the Sprint Cup Series came in 2008.


Joining Edwards on the front row is Joey Logano, who completed his final lap at 193.306 mph. Logano had an identical speed to Martin Truex Jr., but won a tiebreaker to place second in qualifying for the Duck Commander 500 on Saturday night (7:30 p.m. ET, FOX, PRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio).


Rounding out the top five are Chase Elliott (193.036 mph) and Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (192.940).


Last year’s winner of the Duck Commander 500, Jimmie Johnson, qualified 11th.


This story will be updated.